Canada: the Promised Land?

This isn’t the only option.  The American way of handling sexuality as a whole, gay sexuality specifically, and gay socializing and culture is just one of several.  I have never experienced gay culture in Canada personally, but I have heard some things…

Like they allow full male nudity in the strip clubs/bars apparently.  I saw a documentary on sexuality by the BBC once, and they showed the interior of a club that might have been in Toronto.  It looked nice–clean, spacious, ample room on the bar.  I can’t imagine it was in America because this totally naked guy squatted down right in front of a customer, like a few inches from the guy’s drink!  Anyway, the stripper held his junk forward (probably a good idea around tipsy gay men) and let the customer fondle his crack and anus.  It was amazing.  The guy was sizzling hot; well-muscled and totally shaved.  I want to go to that place!

Then I met a man, on a date, who did go to a Canadian city near the border, for the purpose of visiting one of these clubs.  He confirmed that the laws are different and the strippers were, indeed, buck naked.  One of the first things I asked the man was where do they put their tips?  He described the joint as having a bit of a jock theme that night, so the strippers wore tennis shoes with those tube socks hiked up over their calves.  The socks held the money until their break.  Hmm, handy.

This conversation triggered the memory of a truly disastrous/hilarious date from years before.  This guy seemed great.  He picked me up and paid for lunch.  But the closer we got to his part of town–the GERMAN part of town–the more things deteriorated.  I was never in any danger, unless you consider being driven around by a nazi to be intrinsically dangerous.  He was just so PROUD of his German heritage.  It was a sunny day and the windows were down, so he began to point some things out as we made our way south on the main street of our town.  He delighted me with comments about how the black people standing on the corner were probably on their way to a drug deal, because they looked like they were in need of their next fix.  And he regaled me with stories about how during World Wars I and II, the townspeople tortured and murdered German breeds of dogs in the streets of the German neighborhood.  Sure he was a kook, but his feelings of hurt and anger were very real, I observed.

So, of course, I refused to see him again.  He wrote me twice totally bitching at me for not writing him back and “ignoring” him.  So I DID write him back and explained that I simply couldn’t afford to be seen in public with him; I value my reputation too much.  He stopped writing.

But I’m sure the reason I encountered him was because of his comment about Canada and her gay bars, strippers, culture, and men:  “It’s the promised land,” he said after regaling me with some stories about his trips there.  His eyes lit up with the energy of hope and joy, even if only briefly.  And I never forgot, even after all these years.  Now I can’t wait to go myself.  {>^<V}

Leave a Reply

